Phil Soven Wins Pro Tour Contest in Monroe

Phillip Soven Claims Victory at MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour Monroe,

Nicola Butler Wins Women’s Division

Monroe, Wa. – The second day of the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour presented by Rockstar Energy Drink in Monroe was graced with stiff competition and world-class riding from the sport’s most talented athletes. Showcasing premiere skills throughout the event, Phillip Soven rose to victory in the Men’s Pro division, while Nicola Butler stood atop the podium in the Women’s Pro.


With artist-like precision, Soven painted an excellent run to claim his second consecutive Pro Tour victory. The win solidifies him as a prime contender for the season title heading into the final event in Knoxville, Tenn. Also keeping an eye on the season-long prize is Harley Clifford, who placed second in today’s competition, paving the way for a classic final showdown in Tennessee.

“It feels great to get my second win in a row,” said Phillip Soven. “I started a little slow, but have pulled into a spot to be leading King of Wake. It’s reminiscent of last year where the Pro Tour title will again come down to the last stop of the season in Knoxville.”

The Women’s Pro division also saw a strong contingent of the best females frothing to launch off the XStar’s massive wake to claim victory. Nicola Butler produced a run that meshed big aerials perfectly with precise rail-riding to place her at the top of the field. Mellissa Marquardt and Raimi Merritt also put in stellar runs in the finals to round out the podium.


Wakeboarding’s stars of the future also determined a winner today in the Junior Pro Men’s division. The performance of the day came from Tony Iacconi, who took first place in the ultra-competitive division. However, it was no walk in the park for Iacconi, who had to overcome top-notch runs from Gordon Harrison and Mike Dowdy who finished in second and third place respectively.

Following the final round of the Men’s Pro fans were treated to two specialty event; the Sony Big Air contest and the Rockstar Double Up. Using the kicker to launch to heights rarely visited during competition, Dean Smith stuck a backside 720 to take first place in the Big Air contest, while Jimmy Lariche reigned supreme in the Double Up by dazzling fans with a gigantic switch heel 900.

For more information on the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour, please visit:


The MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour, presented by ROCKSTAR is organized by World Sports & Marketing of Orlando, Fla., and has the support of the following sponsors: MasterCraft, Rockstar Energy Drink, Overton’s, Indmar, Peavey, Billabong, Hyperlite, CWB, Ronix, Liquid Force, Byerly, Oakley, Sayiwon’t, Epiphone and TransWorld WAKEBOARDING magazine.

MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour Monroe Day Two Results

Pro Men’s Finals


1. Phillip Soven 85.00

2. Harley Clifford 80.00

3. Rusty Malinoski 70.00

4. Aaron Rathy 65.00

5. JD Webb 50.00

6. Shota Tezuka 45.00

Pro Women’s Finals

1. Nicola Butler 75.67

2. Mellissa Marquardt 66.67

3. Raimi Merritt 60.00

4. Meagan Ethell 56.00

5. Amber Wing 50.00

6. Dallas Friday 40.00

Junior Pro Men’s Finals

1. Tony Iacconi 85.50

2. Gordon Harrison 79.00

3. Mike Dowdy 76.00

4. Freddie Wayne 75.00

5. Massi Piffaretti 69.50

6. Jacob Valdez 65.00

Pro Men’s Semifinals Heat 1 (Top 3 Advance)

1. Phillip Soven 90.00

2. Shota Tezuka 85.00

3. Rusty Malinoski 80.00

4. Tony Carroll 60.00

5. Andrew Adkison 30.00

Pro Men’s Semifinals Heat 2

1. Harley Clifford 90.00

2. Aaron Rathy 70.00

3. JD Webb 60.00

4. Dean Smith 30.00

5. Steel Lafferty 10.00

Junior Pro Men’s Semifinals Heat 1 (Top 3 Advance)

1. Jacob Valdez 90.25

2. Massi Piffaretti 88.75

3. Tony Iacconi 85.75

4. Noah Flegel 73.35

5. Joey Buss 61.50

Junior Pro Men’s Semifinals Heat 2

1. Mike Dowdy 93.25

2. Gordon Harrison 87.25

3. Freddie Wayne 78.00

4. Christian Primrose 76.25

5. Parker Siegele 65.25

Men’s Pro Quaterfinals Heat 1 Results (Top 2 Advance)

1. Steel Lafferty 70.00

2. Andrew Adkison 60.33

3. Josh Palma 51.67

4. Adam Errington 33.33

Men’s Pro Quarterfinals Heat 2 Results

1. Dean Smith 80.00

2. Tony Carroll 73.33

3. Austin Hair 66.67

4. Chad Sharpe 50.00

Men’s Pro Quarterfinals Heat 3

1. Rusty Malinoski 81.67

2. Shota Tezuka 70.00

3. Jimmy Lariche 58.33

4. Joey Bradley 40.00

Men’s Pro Quarterfinals Heat 4

1. Phillip Soven 83.33

2. JD Webb 75.00

3. Daniel Powers 66.67

4. Kyle Rattray 58.33

Men’s Pro Quarterfinals Heat 5

1. Harley Clifford 93.33

2. Aaron Rathy 86.67

3. Oliver Derome 70.00

4. Trevor Hansen 50.00