The 2016 Wake Awards

The 2016 Wake Awards went down at Surf Expo in the dramatic fashion that it always does. Hopefully you paid attention all night on Twitter as it all unfolded, but if you didn’t, we’ve got the full list of results below. The night went down as it always does, with the top riders, industry heads and the who’s who of the wake industry staring at the incessant glow of the stage as the winners are unveiled and the masses cheer. We asked Brad Smeele to co-host the 2016 Wake Awards with Dano the Mano, and it was one of the best shows yet.

We’d like to give a special thanks to Malibu Boats, WSIA, Indmar Marine Engines, Rockford Fosgate Marine Audio, SeaDek, ZF Marine, Roswell, Surf Expo, Acme Marine, Sesitec, Wet Sounds Marine Audio, and PTM Edge Watersports for helping make the 2016 Wake Awards a success!

Wake Park Rider of the Year:

Daniel Grant WBM

Best Women’s Rider:

Meagan Ethell WBM

The “Check Out” Award presented by Rockford Fosgate:

Max van Helvoort WBM

Rail Rider of the Year:

Dom Hernler WBM

Photographer of the Year:

Rodrigo Donoso WBM

Best Web Video:

Brenton Priestley & Spencer Norris WBM

Best Video Part:

Josh Twelker – Dog Dayz WBM

Industry Icon Award:

Chris Bischoff WBM

Best Video:

Dog Dayz by Trever Maur WBM

Best Wakeboarder:

Brenton Priestley WBM

Best Wakeskater of the Year:

Brian Grubb WBM

Indmar Trick of the Year Wakeskate:

Reed Hansen WBM

Watch the Indmar Trick of the Year Wakeskate >>


Indmar Trick of the Year (Men’s):

Max van Helvoort WBM

Watch the Indmar Trick of the Year Men’s >>

Not pictured – Indmar Trick of the Year (Women’s): Julia Rick

Watch the Indmar Trick of the Year Women’s >>


Email Newsletters and Special Offers

Sign up for Wakeboarding emails to receive up-to-date athlete and industry news as well as special offers on behalf of Wakeboarding’s partners.

By signing up you agree to receive communications from Wakeboarding and select partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy. You may opt out of email messages/withdraw consent at any time.

More News