Wakeboard Nationals Day 4 Recap

Harley Clifford Wins Men’s Pro at Nautique WWA Wakeboard National Championships

Melissa Marquardt Claims Women’s Pro Title

Waco, TX. — A dramatic final day of action at the Nautique WWA Wakeboard National Championships presented by Rockstar culminated in prestigious national titles for four athletes in the sport’s most premiere divisions. Paramount performances came from Harley Clifford and Melissa Marquardt who won the Men’s Pro and Women’s Pro divisions respectively.


Clifford carved his way into history at the 25th Annual Wakeboard National Championships with a finals run for the ages. With his riding in prime form when it mattered the most, Clifford linked together a run behind the Super Air Nautique G23 that featured some of the biggest airs of the entire event, mixing in stylish toe and heel side rotations as well as sound rail riding. The dream run was executed perfectly and was just enough to overcome a stacked field of competitors that included Rusty Malinoski, Nautique Team rider Bob Soven, Nautique Team rider Noah Flegel, Oli Derome and Nautique Team rider Danny Harf.

“It’s unbelievable to win Nationals,” said Clifford! “Everyone was ripping all weekend and I’m just lucky I was able to stick all the tricks I wanted to and it was good enough to get the victory.”

The Pro Women’s finals were a testament to the new heights female riders are taking the sport. On the forefront of it all is Melissa Marquardt, who claimed a coveted National Title today. Marquardt clinched the crown with a progressive run that was equal parts modern masterpiece and commitment to fundamentals. Her run had it all including the biggest airs of the heat, smooth style and highly technical rail sections. The finals also featured a field of the finest female riders on the planet, including Amber Wing, Nautique Team rider Meagan Ethell, Taylor McCullough, Bec Gange and Nautique Team rider Raimi Merritt.


Championship caliber performances were also put in today by Brian Grubb and Gunner Daft who claimed National Titles in the Pro Wakeskate and Jr. Pro Men divisions respectively.

Prior to the Pro Men’s finals today, the crowd enjoyed the CONTOUR Big Air Contest. The mesmerizing specialty event featured some of the best Pro Men riders launching from a ramp to perform massive rotating aerials that are rarely accomplished in a traditional contest setting. Going the biggest was Adam Errington who boosted a huge mute switch roll to revert from the kicker ramp to walk away the winner.

Day Four Results:


Men’s Pro Finals

1. Harley Clifford 94.33

2. Rusty Malinoski 85.00


3. Bob Soven 80.00

4. Noah Flegel 77.50

5. Oli Derome 75.00

6. Danny Harf 48.33

Women’s Pro Finals

1. Melissa Marquardt 82.00

2. Maber Wing 78.00

3. Meagan Ethell 75.00

4. Taylor McCullough 71.67

5. Raimi Merritt 61.67

Pro Wakeskate Finals

1. Brian Grubb

2. Reed Hansen 77.67

3. James Balzer 65.00

4. Danny Hampson 59.00

Jr. Pro Men Finals

1. Gunner Daft 89.75

2. Parker Siegele 88.25

3. Robby Holihan 72.75

4. Jason Soven 72.75

5. James Loisel 65.50

6. Nic Rapa 61.00

Men’s Pro Semifinals Heat 1 (Top rider advances)

1. Danny Harf 85.67

2. Tony Iacconi 81.67

3. Tom Fooshee 75.00

Men’s Pro Semifinals Heat 2

1. Bob Soven 78.33

2. Dean Smith 76.67

3. Jimmy Lariche 66.00

Men’s Pro Semifinals Heat 3

1. Oli Derome 75.00

2. Josh Twelker 68.67

3. JD Webb 25.00

Men’s Pro Semifinals Heat 4

1. Noah Flegel 78.33

2. Tony Carroll 71.67

3. Steel Lafferty 28.33

Men’s Pro Semifinals Heat 5

1. Rusty Malinoski 81.67

2. Josh Palma 71.67

3. Keenan Allen 63.33

Men’s Pro Semifinals Heat 6

1. Harley Clifford 93.33

2. Phil Soven 81.67

3. Massis Piffaretti 61.67