Nationals Recap

The fifth and final day of the 2008 Air Nautique WWA Wakeboard National Championships, presented by Rockstar Energy Drink, had seven titles up for grabs.

In the Pro Men's Division, five riders battled it out on the water for the national title. Last year's winner, Rusty Malinoski, looked to have a repeat performance in the finals, but Phillip Soven threw down a near-perfect run, posting 98 points to take the top spot in the finals and ride away with his first-ever national title. Malinoski finished in second-place followed by Andrew Adkison in third.

"I have won a lot of contests and awards throughout my career, but never a national title," says Soven. "This trophy means a lot, it's a dream-come-true to finally win it."

Trevor Hansen may not have made it to the finals, but the Florida native did managed to ride away with some extra cash, thanks to Rockstar Energy Drink. Hansen was named the winner of the Rockstar Energy Drink Best Trick Award, a $1,000 cash bonus for landing the most impressive trick of the contest, a backside 7 off the Air Force Kicker.

The Pro Women's Division took to the water today in a six-woman final for the national title. Last year's winner, Amber Wing, was looking to have a repeat performance in the finals, but proved to be shaky in the previous two rounds, making the top-seeded rider and Queen of Wake Rookie of the Year frontrunner Raimi Merritt the top contender.

But Wing didn't let the seeding or the five other finalists, including Merritt