Photo Gallery: Wakestock 2010

August 9, 2010

Thousands lined the shore and crammed the bleachers at Collingwood’s Millennium Park to watch the best wakeboarders and wakeskaters throw down during the Wakestock 2010 WWA World Series pro contest, presented by Monster Energy. On the shore, pro skateboarders and bikini-clad models entertained the crowds as Public Enemy and Alexisonfire took to the stage.

The 2011 Malibu Wakesetter made it’s world debut as the towboat for the Malibu Boats Pro Wakeskate Championship, where defending five-time Wakestock champion, Brian Grubb, posted the highest score of the day. Stuart Shinn and Grant Roberts, as well as Canadians James Balzer, Yan Lecomte and Dan Brown, all advanced to the semi-finals.

Defending champion Aaron Rathy also advanced to the next round despite battling a season-long knee injury. Three-time Wakestock champ Phil Soven was last off the dock and posted the highest score of the day. Other heat winners included Shane Bonifay, Bob Soven and Trevor Hansen.


While the wake pros ran through their qualification heats in perfect calm water conditions in front of huge shoreline crowds, the Monster Energy music stage heated up with incredible performances from Maestro Fresh-Wes and Crash Kings. Then, following a packed pro skate demo at the Wakestock skatepark by Paul Machnau, Grant Patterson, Paul Trep and the rest of the new Red Star skate team, Alexisonfire took the stage in front of the biggest crowds of the afternoon to deliver an insane live performance.

Introduced by Maestro Fresh-Wes, hip-hop legends Public Enemy shut the day down with an energetic performance as the sun set. Chuck D and Flavor Flav ran the stage, delivering classic anthems from the Long Island crew’s highly regarded Fear of a Black Planet and It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back albums. At one point Flav even cranked out a drum solo. After wrapping up their hour-plus set with the rousing “Fight the Power,” Chuck left the stage proclaiming, “Long live Wakestock!”

Wakestock World Series Pro Men’s Qualifications

(Top 2 Advance to Semi-Finals)



Heat 1

1. Padiwat Jaemjam THAI 62.00


2. Scotty Broome AUS 51.67

3. Robbie McMillin CAN 41.67

4. Dylan Miller CAN 30.00


Heat 2

1. Kyle Rattray CAN 73.33

2. Nick Jones USA 65.00

3. Christian Primrose CAN 56.67

4. Terry Bailey USA 36.67

Heat 3

1. Robert Soven USA 76.67

2. Andrew Adkison USA 63.33

3. Jason Bannatyne CAN 50.00

Heat 4

1. Olivier Derome CAN 73.33

2. Aaron Rathy CAN 63.33

3. Mike Maynard CAN 50.00

Heat 5

1. Raphael Derome CAN 70.00

2. Danny Thollander USA 60.00

3. Dary Znebel CAN 46.67

Heat 6

1. Shane Bonifay USA 73.33

2. Austin Hair USA 60.00

3. Gavin Hicks CAN 50.00

Heat 7

1. Trevor Hansen USA 80.00

2. Dustin O’Ferrall CAN 60.00

3. Kevin Henshaw CAN 50.00

Heat 8

1. Phillip Soven USA 83.33

2. Shawn Watson USA 70.00

3. Dylan Rivait CAN 46.67


Heat 1

1. Grant Roberts USA 83.33

2. Dan Brown CAN 63.33

3. Adison Farr CAN 40.00

4. Kevin Calvez FRA DNS

Heat 2

1. James Balzer CAN 76.67

2. Stuart Shinn USA 63.33

3. Adam Lewis CAN 26.67

4. Quentin Dubrac FRA 10.00

Heat 3

1. Brian Grubb USA 85.00

2. Yan Lecomte CAN 73.33

3. Scotty Boysen CAN 50.00

4. Chris Hau CAN 40.00


Email Newsletters and Special Offers

Sign up for Wakeboarding emails to receive up-to-date athlete and industry news as well as special offers on behalf of Wakeboarding’s partners.

By signing up you agree to receive communications from Wakeboarding and select partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy. You may opt out of email messages/withdraw consent at any time.

More News