Red Bull Wake Lab

September 9, 2008


On Monday, we got a glimpse of the beginnings of the massive structure Pat Panakos is assembling on Lake Eola in downtown Orlando for an event Red Bull is calling Wake Lab. It doesn’t look like much now, but when it’s finished Thursday, it will be arguably the most elaborate setup wakeboarding has ever seen.

The Wake Lab will also mark the U.S. competitive debut of Sesitec’s new System 2.0, a portable straight-line cable system that will tow riders over the park’s elevated pool, hand rails and half pipe.


Parks Bonifay hand-selected 24 of the world’s best riders to compete in the innovative event, which kick offs at 7:30 p.m. Saturday. Twelve of those riders will vie for eight spots in the semifinals, while another 12, including Red Bull riders JD Webb, Adam Errington, Josh Sanders and Bonifay will automatically advance to the semifinals.

Invited Riders:

(All invited riders automatically qualify for the semifinals starting at 8 p.m.)


Parks Bonifay

Shane Bonifay

Adam Errington


Danny Harf

Collin Harrington

Keith Lidberg


Gabe Lucas

Aaron Rathy

Josh Sanders

Chad Sharpe

Shawn Watson

JD Webb

Qualifier Group:

(Riders in this group will have two rounds of qualifying sessions starting at 4 p.m. to complete the field.)

Oliver Derome

Mike Ennen

Clay Fletcher

Tom Fooshee

Kevin Henshaw

Robbie Jacques

Keith Lyman

Rusty Malinoski

Shaun Murray

Erik Ruck

Philip Soven

Yannick Tibo

Wake Lab Schedule:

Practice Session

Friday, September 12, 2998

3 p.m. – 5 p.m.: Open practice sessions on Lake Eola

Event Day

Saturday, September 13, 2008

4 p.m. – 5 p.m.: Qualifying Round – Four groups of three. Four riders advance to the quarterfinals

6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.: Quarterfinals – Four groups of four. Eight riders advance to the semifinals

7:30 p.m. – 8 p.m.: DJ Swamp opens the event

7:45 p.m.: Red Bull Air Force skydive demo

8 p.m. – 9:30 p.m.: Semifinals and Finals: Two groups of four riders compete. Only four athletes advance to the final round.

9:30 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.: DJ Swamp Closes Event and Award Presentation



More News