Air Nautique Nationals is Full of Firsts

The 2009 Air Nautique WWA Wakeboard National Championships, presented by ROCKSTAR, wrapped-up its final day of action in Oklahoma City, Okla., with several wakeboarding firsts occurring throughout the day.

In the Pro Men's division, Adam Errington upset the top-seeded rider, Andrew Adkison, in the five-man final to win his first pro national title. Adkison finished the contest in second place, while Danny Harf rounded out the podium in third. Though he didn't claim the national title, Harf did make an impact on the water by landing the first Wrapped Nose Grab Backside Off-Axis 720 in a contest. Rusty Malinoski and Shane Bonifay finished the five-man final, respectively.

Taking home the ROCKSTAR Best Trick Award was Keith Lidberg for his Toeside 270 on the Fun Box. The Award is a $1,000 cash prize.

Reed Hansen landed the first Switch Heelside 540 in a contest during his final run to help earn his second Pro Wakeskate national title. Hansen won his first in 2007. Brian Grubb and Brandon Thomas rounded out the podium, respectively.

Breaking her own record, previously set at five, Dallas Friday claimed her sixth U.S. national title - the most won by any wakeboarder. Friday topped the podium after taking first place in the Pro Women's division six-woman final. Nicola Butler and Amber Wing rounded out the podium, respectively.

The Jr. Pro Men's division hit the water for their six-man final, with Bob Soven taking first place with a score of 97.00, a near 20-point differential from the next closest competitor. Jacob Valdez and Daniel Powers rounded out the Jr. Pro Men's division podium. His win marks Soven's first national title in the Jr. Pro Men's division.

The Boys and Jr. Women divisions also wrapped-up their riding, with Jason Soven and Megan Blaschka claiming their respective division's national title.

Now that the Air Nautique WWA Wakeboard National Championships, presented by ROCKSTAR has ended, the top tier riders from each of the 20 divisions will be invited to represent the United States at the WWA Wakeboard World Champions later this year in Orlando, Fla.