WakeBoarding Magazine Announces 5th Annual Wake Awards Ceremony Presented by Rockstar

WakeBoarding, the world’s number one wake sports magazine, announced plans for the 5th Annual Wake Awards presented by RockStar Energy Drink, which will take place September 12 in Orlando, Florida during Surf Expo.

The Wake Awards are designed to recognize “The Best In Wake” in 15 different categories encompassing video, photography and top riding including the “Move of the Year” awards for the most impressive move performed in both wakeboarding and wakeskating. Presented by Oakley, the “Move of the Year” is a top honor in the sport so the winner in each category will win some pocket cash as well as custom-engraved Oakley Diamond Minute Machine watch.

New for 2008 will be the crowning of the “King of Wake” and “Queen of Wake.” These awards are the highest accolade in competitive wakeboarding.


The Wake Awards, presented by Rockstar Energy Drink, are determined by an industry-wide voting panel of over 50 members. The King and Queen of Wake are determined by a season-long race for the crown where riders accumulate points at designated WWA events.

Presenting this year’s Legend award will be Scott Byerly, Shaun Murray, Darin Shapiro and Parks Bonifay, all of whom are already inducted into the Legends Club. There will also be lots of fun and entertainment, including drinks, hors d’ ouvers, and a special appearance by “Dano The Mano.” Jeff Barton will host the event for the 5th year and FUEL TV will be on hand for an exclusive program which will air later this year.

“The Wake Awards are the absolute highest honor in the sport.” says Rusty Malinoski, last year’s winner of Best Wakeboarder. “There’s nothing that can compare to being recognized on that stage.”


Here are the official award titles for the 5th Annual Wake Awards presented by Rockstar Energy Drink:

Rail Master
Best Wake Rider
“On Point” Award
Best Womens Wakeboarder
Photographer of the Year
Best Video Performance