UCF Wins Collegiate Wakeboard Nationals

For the second consecutive year, the Golden Knights from the University of Central Florida clinched the national overall team title at the 2005 Supra Collegiate Wakeboard National Championships, Oct. 29-30, at the Orlando Watersports Complex in Orlando, Fla. More than 130 riders from 20 colleges and universities competed for the team title and individual titles in eight divisions divided by gender and ability. Hosted by Rollins College and sanctioned by USA Wakeboard, the event featured competition in wakeboarding and wakeskating and proved to be the largest Collegiate Wakeboard Nationals to date.

Central Florida won the national title after tallying 2,534.66 points. Rollins College finished second with 2,446.26 points and the University of Florida rounded out the top-three placements with 2,224.12 points.

In the individual competition, athletes competed in the following divisions: Men's Novice (no more than one invert), Men's Intermediate (no more than three inverts), Men's Outlaw (no more than five inverts), Men's Pro (anything goes), Women's Novice (no inverts), Women's Outlaw (anything goes), Women's Wakeskating and Men's Wakeskating.

In Men's Pro, Florida's Scott Hopkins won his second consecutive national title scoring 58.08 points. Close behind Hopkins was Florida Southern's Bryan Hutton with 57.79 points and Rollins' Josh Palma, who finished third with 48.54 points.

In Men's Outlaw, Rollins' Jonathan Jasiewicz won the national title with 52.23 points. Florida State's Jeff Tamayo finished second with 50.27 points and Valencia's Mike Connor placed third with 48.57 points.

In Women's Outlaw, Rollins' Barrett Perlman clinched the national title with 39.33 points. Central Florida's Megan McNeil placed second with 37.34 points and teammate Shelly Hanson finished third with 20.8 points.

In Men's Intermediate, Central Florida's Jeff Haughey won the national title with 65.1 points. Teammate Mike Busch placed second with 60.68 points and Chatham Clary of Stephen F. Austin University finished third with 51.6 points.

In Men's Novice, Chris Prsha of Long Beach State University captured the national title with 55.57 points. Rollins' David Dabney placed second with 47.8 points and Central Florida's Jason King rounded out the top three placements with 42.73 points.

In Women's Novice, Florida's Kelley Jones won the national title with 55.55 points. Teammate Olga Timofeeva placed second with 46.03 points and Rollins' Barbie Sellmeyer finished third with 41.13 points.

In Men's Wakeskating, Central Florida's Kyle Hyams won the national title with 44.87 points. Teammate Nick Valliere placed second with 44.83 points and James Evans of San Joaquin Delta College finished third with 44.27 points.

In Women's Wakeskating, Central Florida's McNeil won her second consecutive national title with 63.97 points. Florida's Jones placed second with 34.71 points and teammate Kristen Williams finished third with 32.02 points.