Phil Soven Wins PWT Monroe

July 13, 2014
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Phil Soven Claims Victory at MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour Monroe

Monroe, Wash. – A dramatic day of action on Lake Tye culminated with a multitude of inspiring performances in the finals of the Monroe installment of the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour presented by Rockstar. Phil Soven rose to the top of the sport’s premiere division, earning a hard fought victory at the third Pro Tour event of the season.

Equally impressive as Soven’s finals winning run was the stacked field of athletes he overcame to prevail, which included Rusty Malinoski, Shota Tezuka, Danny Harf, Steel Lafferty and Harley Clifford. Ultimately, Soven sealed the deal with a contest-clinching performance that featured gigantic airs boosted off the X-Star’s massive wake coupled with super stylish rail riding and flawless technical maneuvers.


“I’m happy to walk away with the win, everyone was riding great all weekend,” said Soven. “With only one Pro Tour stop left this season, it’s great to have momentum going into the final event.”

Prior to the Pro Men’s finals, the crowd of thousands witnessed one of the most exciting spectacles in professional wakeboarding, the CONTOUR Big Air Contest. The mind boggling specialty event featured a handful of the world’s most progressive riders launching from a ramp to perform massive rotating aerials that are rarely accomplished in a traditional contest setting. The spoils went to Stephen Pierce, who launched a huge Indy Glide to earn a well deserved first place finish.

MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour Final Results:


Men’s Pro Finals

1. Phil Soven 89.33

2. Rusty Malinoski 86.33


3. Shota Tezuka 82.67

4. Danny Harf 72.33

5. Steel Lafferty 67.00


6. Harley Clifford 60.00

Men’s Pro Semifinals (Riders in bold advance)

Heat 1

**1. Rusty Malinoski 89.00

2. Phil Soven 86.00**

3. Stephen Pierce 71.67

4. Massi Piffaretti 50.00

Heat 2

**1. Steel Lafferty 91.67

2. Danny Harf 87.50**

3. Kyle Rattray 73.33

4. Josh Twelker 65.00

Heat 3

**1. Harley Clifford 91.67

2. Shota Tezuka 88.33**

3. Tony Carroll 78.33

4. Austin Hair 66.67

Men’s Pro – Quarterfinals (Riders in bold advance)

Heat 1

**1. Danny Harf 83.33

2. Stephen Pierce 78.33**

3. Damien Adam 60.00

4. Pierce Homsey 28.33

Heat 2

**1. Phil Soven 89.33

2. Austin Hair 83.33**

3. Daniel Powers 79.33

4. Noah Flegel 58.33

Heat 3

**1. Rusty Malinoski 91.67

2. Josh Twelker 78.33**

3. Danny Thollander 70.00

4. Jason Bannatyne 50.67

Heat 4

**1. Steel Lafferty 88.33

2. Kyle Rattray 83.33**

3. Tony Iacconi 76.00

4. Aaron Rathy 65.00

Heat 5

**1. Tony Carroll 81.67

2. Shota Tezuka 77.33**

3. Keenan Allen 65.00

4. Dean Smith 60.67

Heat 6

**1. Harley Clifford 90.00

2. Massi Piffaretti 85.67**

3. Oli Derome 79.33

4. Brad Teunissen 60.00


More News