Harley Clifford Wins Pro Tour Grand Rapids

Harley Clifford Wins MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour Grand Rapids

_Phil Soven Clinches Pro Wakeboard Tour and King of Wake Overall Titles,

Michigan’s Mike Dowdy Wins Rookie of the Year Honors_

Grand Rapids, MI. — Thousands of fans flocked to Millennium Park to watch the season ending heats of the 2013 MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour presented by Rockstar in Grand Rapids. The riding they witnessed was curtain call worthy, in particular the finals run by Harley Clifford who launched himself to victory in the Pro Men’s division with an other-worldly performance.

The Aussie-phenom’s contest winning run was a demo in all facets of progressive wakeboarding. His lethal aerial attack off of the X-Star’s perfect wake featured some the sport’s most difficult maneuvers, including a double indy tantrum and heelside 900. To boot, his rail-riding was spot on and the judges rewarded his effort with a near perfect 97.33 point ride. The dominating run placed him in front of two of the sport’s best, Phil Soven and Steel Lafferty, who finished in second and third place respectively.

“I’ve had some bad luck and an injury this season,” said Clifford. “It felt good to finally get a win, it was one of the craziest finals we’ve ever had.”

The season ending event also determined the 2013 Pro Wakeboard Tour and King of Wake overall winner. Soven’s second place finish placed him atop in both series, further cementing his legacy as one of the sport’s all-time great competitors.

With a strong fourth place finish in Grand Rapids, Michigan native Mike Dowdy earned the prestigious Overton’s King of Wake Rookie of the Year award. Dowdy finished his remarkable first pro season in the top five of both the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour and King of Wake rankings.

The Junior Pro Men also determined multiple champions today. In the event’s finals Cory Teunissen narrowly edged out Noah Flegel by less than a point to take first place in the highly-competitive heat. However, Flegel did not leave the event empty handed. His second place finish was enough to clinch overall season titles on the Overton’s Junior Pro Series as well as the MasterCraft Junior Pro Tour.

Following the Men’s Pro Finals, a handful of the world’s best riders competed in the jaw-dropping Polaroid Action Big Air Contest. Taking first place in the competition was Adam Errington, who stuck a massive indy backside 180.

For more information on the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour presented by Rockstar visit KingofWake.com.

Final Results:

Pro Men Finals

1. Harley Clifford 97.33

2. Phil Soven 90.00

3. Steel Lafferty 87.67

4. Mike Dowdy 77.33

5. Austin Hair 71.67

6. Rusty Malinoski 11.67

Jr. Pro Men Finals

1. Cory Teunissen 91.00

2. Noah Flegel 90.25

3. Tony Iacconi 84.25

4. Parker Siegele 66.00

5. Brad Teunissen 60.25

6. Jason Soven 58.25

Pro Men Semifinals Heat 1 (Top 3 advance)

1. Rusty Malnoski 96.00

2. Harley Clifford 95.00

3. Austin Hair 81.67

4. Kyle Rattray 61.67

Pro Men Semifinals Heat 2

1. Phil Soven 90.67

2. Mike Dowdy 87.33

3. Steel Lafferty 82.33

4. Adam Errington 79.00

Jr. Pro Men Semifinals Heat 1

1. Cory Teunissen 92.75

2. Tony Iacconi 90.50

3. Brad Teunissen 78.75

4. Gordon Harrison 78.00

5. Damien Allen 60.00

Jr. Pro Men Semifinals Heat 2

1. Noah Flegel 91.00

2. Parker Siegele 88.25

3. Jason Soven 79.75

4. Joey Buss 73.50

5. Juan Mendez 67.50

Pro Men Quarterfinals Heat 1 (Top 2 riders advance)

1. Harley Clifford 94.00

2. Steel Lafferty 85.67

3. Andrew Adkison 78.33

4. Tony Caroll 73.33

Pro Men Quarterfinals Heat 2

1. Rusty Malinoski 93.00

2. Mike Dowdy 90.00

3. Dean Smith 87.33

4. Trevor Hansen 38.33

Pro Men Quarterfinals Heat 3

1. Adam Errington 87.33

2. Kyle Rattray 81.00

3. Josh Palma 76.67

4. Shota Tezuka 60.00

Pro Men Quarterfinals Heat 4

1. Phil Soven 87.67

2. Austin Hair 84.67

3. Daniel Powers 81.00

4. Josh Twelker 33.33