Smith, Butler and Hansen Win Wakeboard Worlds

August 23, 2010

Dean Smith, Nicola Butler and Reed Hansen won titles at the 17th annual Rockstar WWA Wakeboard World Championships, presented by Supra, at the Orlando Watersports Complex.

The Pro Men’s division proved to be one of the most exciting finales in the WWA World Championship’s 17-year history. With top-seed Harley Clifford failing to advance past the semifinals, Danny Harf, Trevor Hansen, Dean Smith and brothers Phillip and Bob Soven faced off in the five-man final.

All five pros threw down impressive runs, but Aussie Dean Smith made the biggest impact on the water to take home his first-ever world title. Phillip Soven and Trevor Hansen rounded out the Pro Men’s division podium.


“This is so sick; I’m the world champion for the next 365 days” said Smith. “Going into the finals, I didn’t know what would happen, but I just put it together out there and won.”

With today’s win, Dean Smith becomes the first Australian native to win the world title in the Pro Men’s division.

Phillip Soven’s second-place finish earned him his third King of Wake title in four years.


“I wanted to finish off the season with a win, but I’m not going home empty handed, I still won King of Wake,” said Soven.

In the Pro Women’s division, the top professional female riders in the world faced off in a six-woman final for the world title and deciding points toward the Queen of Wake series. Despite light rain and wind, top-seed Nicola Butler laid down the most impressive run of the day, which included a transfer back lip onto the funbox, to win her second world title in three years.

“I didn’t ride my best; I had a couple of falls, but I was stoked about my transfer,” said Butler. “It feels awesome to win.”


With her win, the England native finished the 2010 season at the top of the Queen of Wake standings – Butler’s second crown in three years.

“I had a bad year in 2009, so to come back this year and win Queen of Wake is like redemption,” said Butler.

Reed Hansen took first place today in the Pro Wakeskate finals to win his fourth consecutive world title.


“Worlds is my favorite contest, so to win it four times in a row is pretty amazing,” said Hansen. “The other guys in my heat really push me to ride better and win events like today.”

2010 Wakeboard Worlds

Pro Men

1. Dean Smith AUS 78.33

2. Phillip Soven USA 73.33

3. Trevor Hansen USA 66.67

4. Danny Harf USA 58.33

5. Bob Soven USA 45.00

Pro Women

1. Nicola Butler GRB 81.67

2. Amber Wing AUS 75.00

3. Raimi Merritt USA 65.00

4. Hayley Smith AUS 56.67

5. Melissa Marquardt USA 50.00

6. Meagan Ethell USA 41.67

Pro Wakeskate

1. Reed Hansen USA 94.67

2. Brian Grubb USA 83.33

3. Stuart Shinn USA 71.67

4. Danny Hampson USA 53.33

Jr. Pro Men

1. Nick Galotifore USA 83.25

2. Steel Lafferty USA 80.75

3. Daniel Powers USA 80.50

4. Raphael Derome CAN 80.00

5. Freddie Wayne USA 75.00

6. Michael Dowdy USA 50.00

Pro Veterans

1. Dean Lavelle USA 73.33

2. Glen Fletcher USA 63.33

Women’s Wakeskate

1. Jen GilanFarr USA 70.00

2. Kristine Gagnier USA 61.67

3. Kiyoka Fujihara JPN 43.33

4. Cassandra Scott USA 35.00


1. Mario Manzoli BRA 68.44

2. Jeremy Baker USA 64.00

3. Billy Garcia USA 60.00

4. Paul Boyd USA 45.00

Men’s I

1. Brad Spencer USA 78.33

2. Luciano Rondi Neto BRA 66.67

3. Rob Corum USA 55.00

4. Marco Torres MEX 46.67


More News