Mapp Wins Second Annual KC Classic

August 8, 2007

Rob Mapp threw down a huge KGB, a blind 313, and a melon crow mobe off the kicker to beat Josh Rice in the pro men’s head-to-head finals of the KC Classic, the second stop on the 2007 WWA Wake Park Series presented by Ten-80, Aug. 3-5 at KC Watersports in Hillsdale, Kansas.

Rice took second in the pro men’s division with a run of technical tricks, including a switch 313 and a skeezer. Up-and-coming riders Marc Shuster and Diego Shaw finished third and fourth respectively.

Andrew Pastura landed a backside big spin, 3 shove, switch big spin over the hip, kickflip and varial flip to edge of Bret Little in the wakeskate finals. Justin Dahan finished third. Other standout moves from the event were Little’s kickflip and shove front lip on the box and Dahan’s linked switch frontside big spin to regular frontside big spin.


Louise Sawyer took first in the open women’s division with transfer to backside boardslide and a mute 360 and scarecrow off the kickers. Anna Hajek and Danielle Coney finished second and third in open women’s. Josh Bank finished first in the junior men’s division followed by Max Bialick and Justin Dahan.

The event also included three new divisions: amateur wakeskate, beginner and intermediate. Local riders claimed the top spot in each of the new divisions.

The event also included a jam-style best trick contest at KC Watersport’s Monster Energy Drink Winch Park. KC rider Carter Collin’s 270 wallride 90 out won the best wakeboard trick while Ben Kaiser took the best wakeskate trick with a boardslide kickflip off the incline rail.


Watch all the action and event highlights brought to you by WebCast-TV at

Special thanks to Ten-80, Toyota Trucks, Liquid Force, Spy Optic, Excel Wetsuits, Shred Ready Helmets and Freestyle Watches for their support of The KC Classic stop of the 2007 WWA Wake Park Series.

WakeBoarding Magazine, published by Bonnier Corporation, is the official magazine of the 2007 WWA Wake Park Series. WakeBoarding is the definitive source on all things wakeboarding, with expert coverage of professional instruction, gear, boats and the latest news.


Find out more about KC Watersports at

KC Classic – Final Results:
Beginner Wakeboard
1. Cara Olsen
2. Tim Hamilton
3. Derek Perez
Intermediate Wakeboard
1. Reed Leible
2. Ian Oldenburger
3. Max Bialick
4. Ty Morlang
5. Zach Hyderman
6. Brandon Powell
Amateur Wakeskate
1. Reed Leible
2. Brad Arnold
3. Collin Haas
4. Zach Roede
5. Richard Bayly
Junior Men (14-18)
1. Josh Bank
2. Max Bialick
3. Justin Dahan
4. Reed Leible
Open Women
1. Louise Sawyer
2. Ana Hajek
3. Danielle Coney
4. Erin Vincent
Pro Wakeskate
1. Andrew Pastura
2. Bret Little
3. Justin Dahan
4. Oury Yarbrough
5. Ben Kaiser
Pro Men
1. Rob Mapp&nnbsp;
2. Josh Rice
3. Marc Shuster
4. Diego Shaw

Future WWA Wake Park Series Dates are:
3rd stop WWA Wake Park Nationals @ OWC – Orlando, FL September 7-9.
4th stop WWA Wake Park Finals @ Ski Rixen – Deerfield, Beach, FL Nov. 10-11.

For more in formation on the 2007 WWA Wake Park Series, please contact the World Wakeboard Association at (407) 362-7841 or visit


Email Newsletters and Special Offers

Sign up for Wakeboarding emails to receive up-to-date athlete and industry news as well as special offers on behalf of Wakeboarding’s partners.

By signing up you agree to receive communications from Wakeboarding and select partners in accordance with our Privacy Policy. You may opt out of email messages/withdraw consent at any time.

More News