Rusty Named WWA World Series Champ

Rusty Malinoski used his second-place finish at the WWA Wakeboard World Championships in Ft. Worth, Texas, to propel himself past Daniel Watkins and Andrew Adkison and win the 2006 WWA Wakeboarding World Series title. Coming into the World Championships, Malinoski and Watkins were tied for first place with 275 points, but Watkins was forced to miss Worlds. Adkison also had a shot at the points lead, but he needed a first-place finish coupled with a fifth-place finish from Malinoksi. In a final heat that also included Pro Wakeboard Tour season champ Danny Harf, Nationals winner Tino Santori and Shaun Murray, Adkison edged out Malinoski, but Rusty secured a second-place finish and the series title.

Final Point Standings

1. Rusty Malinoski 370

2. Andrew Adkison 355

3. Daniel Watkins 275