Canada’s Rusty Malinoski Wins His First Tour Stop of the Year in Portland

July 17, 2006

So far this season on the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour, Canada’s Rusty Malinoski has fallen just short in picking up a victory. But today in Portland, he took that final step. A number-two seed coming into the contest, Malinoski defeated Philip Soven 96.0 to 94.0 in the head-to-head finals to win his first tour stop of the year.

Malinoski has finished second and third respectively the last two stops – in Minnesota and his home country of Canada. – but came through today in Portland defeating a number-one seed Andrew Adkison in the semifinals and the seventh seeded Soven in the finals.

Danny Harf, who lost to Soven in the semis, remains in first place on the season-long Indmar Performance Award points race. Going into the final stop of the season in two weeks in Reno, Nevada, Harf, who’s from Orlando, Florida, has a 20 point lead over Adkison. And with today’s victory, Malinoski moved himself into sole position of third place in the season’s race.


Turning to the future pros, Ryan Anderson picked up his first victory of the year on the Rip It JX Series. Anderson topped second-place finisher Adam Errington, who still leads the season race for the juniors. The Rip It JX Series is a series within the tour for amateur riders 18 and under.

For the Sea-Doo Pro Wakeskate Tour, Reed Hansen won the title topping Brandon Thomas for the title.

The Pro Tour Finals in Reno is set for July 28-30. Indmar Performance Award season champions will be decided at the final stop in pro men and women. Season titles for the Rip It JX Series and the Sea-Doo Wakeskate Tour will also be on the line.


Men’s Pro Wakeboarding

Champion Round
1 Rusty Malinoski (2) 96.00
2 Philip Soven (7) 94.00

Semifinals #1
1 Philip Soven (7) 100.00
2 Danny Harf (1) 90.00


Semifinal #2
1 Rusty Malinoski (2) 97.5
2 Andrew Adkison (1) 92.5

Group One
1 Danny Harf (1) 100.00
2 Tino Santori (5) 90.00

Group Two
1 Philip Soven (7) 100.00
2 Daniel Watkins (3) 90.00


Group Three
1 Andrew Adkison (1) 100.00
2 Jeff Weatherall (5) 90.00

Group Four
1 Rusty Malinoski (2) 100.00
2 Chad Sharpe (6) 90.00

Professional WakeSkate – Finals
1 Reed. Hansen USA 66.67
2 Brandon Thomas USA 55.00

Pofessional WakeSkate – Semi Finals
Top 1 Riders advance to finals

Heat 1
1 R. Hansen USA 90.00
2 Matthew Manzari &nbbsp; 76.67
3 Brian Grubb USA 60.00
4 Scott Byerly USA 20.00

Heat 2
1 Brandon Thomas USA 73.33
2 George Daniels USA 63.33
3 Aaron. Rathy 60.00
4 James Balzer CDN 36.67

Junior Men (14-18)

1 Ryan Anderson USA 66.00
2 Adam Errington USA 61.78
3 Robby Carter USA 55.44
4 Jimmy LaRiche USA 52.22
5 Bryan Hutton USA 45.89
6 Rhett Whatley USA 36.67
7 Austin Hair USA 36.33
8 Alex Scagliotti USA 26.67

Pro Men Wakeboarding


More News