Soven, Wing And Powers Extend Winning Streaks

July 10, 2011


With the sun shinning bright over a glassy Lake Tye, the top professional wakeboarders in the world took to the water for their final rounds of action at the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour stop in Monroe, Wash. Fans packed the shoreline, as the sport’s top pros battle it out for crucial points toward the season standings at the fourth stop of the five-city circuit.

With the season’s end in site, the two with most to gain or lose from today’s contest was Phillip Soven and Harley Clifford. The two Pro Men’s division riders were separated by a mere 10 points heading in to Monroe tour stop.

Clifford, who needed the win today to overtake Soven in the Pro Tour standings, seemed to send a message to the current points-leader by landing three 900 variation tricks during the semifinals.


“Knowing that Phil and I were 10 points apart really put the pressure on us today,” said Clifford. “But my semifinal run was pretty standard for me and I didn’t want to hold back heading into the finals.”

While Clifford was clearly the semifinal standout, the Australian wakeboarding phenom could not hang on to that kind of momentum in the finals, with Soven taking first place in Monroe, extending the points-leader’s win-streak to three.

“Going into this stop, with only a 10-point lead, I knew I need to be able to handle the pressure and do everything I needed to do to win this contest,” said Soven. “With Harley not doing so well in the finals, I take a 45-point lead heading into the last stop, where I plan to defend my title.”


While Soven took first place today in Monroe, Clifford finished last in the six-man heat, with Aaron Rathy and Andrew Adkison rounding out the top three, respectively.

In addition to winning the Pro Men’s division finals, Phillip Soven also took first place in the Overton’s Double Up Contest, winning the $1,000 prize for landing a massive Nose Crow 540.

Also in the Pro Men’s division, Dean Smith took home the $1,000 prize in the Rockstar Energy Drink Big-Air Kicker Contest with his Hootchie Glide Backside 360.


In the Pro Women’s division, all eyes were on top seed Amber Wing to see if the former world champion could extend her winning-streak to three consecutive Pro Tour stop victories with a win today in Monroe.

While Wing faced off against a talented six-woman final, the 28-year-old Australian’s biggest challenge was staying focused.

“I was super nervous about finals today,” said Wing. “I really want to be the overall winner, and as the season gets closer to the end, the more the pressure builds up.”


But Wing didn’t let the pressure get to her today, landing a clean Whirly Bird, Moby Dick and a massive Scarecrow to take first place in Monroe and extending her streak.

With today’s win, Wing remains at the top of the standings list, with nearly a 100-point lead over the next closest competitor Nicola Butler.

Emily Copeland Durham and Nicola Butler took second and third place, respectively, in today’s contest.

In the Jr. Pro Men’s division, newcomer Gordon Harrison made his finals debut today, facing off against Joshua Twelker, Daniel Powers and current points-leader Shota Tezuka.

While Harrison turned heads by landing a Crow Mobe 540 in his first-ever finals run, all eyes remained on Powers to see if the 17-year-old Orlando, Fla. would stretch his winning-streak to three consecutive Pro Tour stop victories.

While all the Jr. Pro Men riders threw down impressive runs, Powers Heelside 720 off the double up lifted the 2011 Masters champion to his third straight Pro Tour stop victory.

“It feels great,” Powers said about his win today. “It’s cool to be on a winning-streak and I hope to keep it going through the last stop of the season.”

Harrison and Tezuka rounded out the podium, respectively.

With today’s win, Power sits in second place overall in the standings; 17 points shy of Tezuka.

With Monroe wrapped up, the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour, presented by Rockstar Energy Drink will now head to its final stop of the season in Knoxville, Tenn., on August 27 & 28. Additional 2011 Pro Tour venues include Acworth, Ga., Fort Worth, Tex., and Colorado Springs, Colo.

For photos from today’s event, visit us on Facebook at

**July 9 Results:


Pro Men

Final Round – Heat #1

1    Phillip Soven    USA    80.00

2    Aaron Rathy    CAN    70.00

3    Andrew Adkison    USA    60.00

4    Dean Smith    AUS    50.00

5    Bob Soven    USA    45.00

6    Harley Clifford    AUS    40.00

Pro Women

Final Round – Heat #1

1    Amber Wing    AUS    80.00

2    Emily Durham    USA    66.67

3    Nicola Butler    GBR    62.67

4    Anna Hajek    USA    58.33

5    Raimi Merritt    USA    54.00

6    Shawna Hoffman    USA    50.00

Jr. Pro Men

Final Round – Heat #1

1    Daniel Powers    USA    92.50

2    Gordon Harrison    USA    85.50

3    Shota Tezuka    JPN    85.00

4    Joshua Twelker    USA    77.00

Pro Men

Semifinal Round – Heat #1

1    Harley Clifford    AUS    85.00

2    Dean Smith    AUS    70.00

3    Aaron Rathy    CAN    65.83

4    Steel Lafferty    USA    61.67

5    Tony Carroll    USA    56.67

Pro Men

Semifinal Round – Heat #2

1    Phillip Soven    USA    81.67

2    Bob Soven    USA    75.00

3    Andrew Adkison    USA    63.00

4    Olivier Derome    CAN    60.00

5    Shaun Murray    USA    36.67

Jr. Pro Men

Semifinal Round – Heat #1

1    Daniel Powers    USA    93.25

2    Joshua Twelker    USA    86.75

3    Mike Dowdy    USA    86.00

4    Dylan Prideaux    AUS    72.50

5    Joey Buss    USA    61.50

Jr. Pro Men

Semifinal Round – Heat #2

1    Shota Tezuka    JPN    92.75

2    Gordon Harrison    USA    84.25

3    Jacob Valdez    USA    82.50

4    Freddie Wayne    USA    73.50

5    Robby Holihan    USA    67.00

Pro Men

Quarterfinal Round – Heat #1

1    Bob Soven    USA    80.00

2    Dean Smith    AUS    73.33

3    Rusty Malinoski    CAN    66.67

4    Jason Bannatyne    CAN    61.67

Pro Men

Qualifying Round – Heat #2

1    Andrew Adkison    USA    75.00

2    Aaron Rathy    CAN    70.00

3    AJ Racinelli    USA    61.67

4    Chad Sharpe    CAN    51.67

Pro Men

Qualifying Round – Heat #3

1    Steel Lafferty    USA    73.33

2    Tony Carroll    USA    66.67

3    Jimmy LaRiche    USA    58.33

4    Nick Jones    USA    50.00

Pro Men

Qualifying Round – Heat #4

1    Harley Clifford    AUS    80.00

2    Shaun Murray    USA    73.33

3    Kyle Rattray    CAN    63.33

4    JD Webb    USA    51.67

Pro Men

Qualifying Round – Heat #5

1    Phillip Soven    USA    78.33

2    Olivier Derome    CAN    66.67

3    Austin Hair    USA    60.00

4    Jeff House    USA    50.00


More Uncategorized